Reconciliation Data Cruncher

Reconciliation Data Cruncher

Mastering the Role of a Qualified Intermediary

The Reconciliation of 1042-S Forms are the IRS' Focus for the Upcoming Certifications

The Qualified Intermediary (QI) Agreement is concluded between the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and non-U.S. banks. It includes, in particular, provisions for customer documentation and for the withholding and payment of U.S. withholding tax due on income from U.S. securities. It also specifies how the banks, which now act as Qualified Intermediaries (QIs), process the aggregated tax information from the upstream depository institutions (so-called received 1042-S forms) and transmit it to the IRS (so-called issued 1042-S forms).

In principle, it seems very simple and obvious that the respective QI can only forward "reportable amounts" to its customers that it has previously received from its depository. However, it has been known for years that it is very difficult to perform a reconciliation of the 1042-S forms due to, among other things, different data sources, 871(m) regulations, timing differences in posting and also reports with an incorrect QI-Employer Identification Number (QI-EIN). Now, the IRS has made reconciliation an essential issue for the 2018 to 2020 certification period, requiring that each QI certification be accompanied by the appropriate 1042-S reconciliations for the calendar years being certified. This should then serve as the basis for deciding whether certification is successful. Any discrepancies or inconsistencies identified therein will be questioned by the agency and, if breaches of duty by the QI are identified, could result in hefty fines.

Are you prepared for this? Are you already performing a reconciliation that can be provided to the IRS for review and reconciliation against their data? At many institutions, we see that the reconciliation is performed manually, which leads to inherent errors when there are often over 100 forms to be analyzed. This manual execution is challenging for many banks and can be very time consuming with sometimes millions of individual payments.

The Best Way to Check 1042-S Forms

The Reconciliation Data Cruncher supports you in checking the plausibility and with reconciling all 1042-S forms for differences.

In this web-based tool, we have included the experience of the last 20 years of QI regime and offer you not only a simple reconciliation of your reports, but also detailed plausibility checks. The intuitive user interface allows you to use the tool independently without time-consuming software training, and the integrated storage of changed fields can replace your previous manual reconciliation.

Our Advantages

reconciliation-data-cruncher-auslesen-der-inhalte


Data Extraction
The contents of the reports are extracted by the software and converted into a machine-readable format. Typing out the forms is no longer necessary, simple transmission errors are avoided and you and your employees can concentrate on other tasks.

reconciliation-data-cruncher-plausibilitätsprüfung


Plausibility Checks
By reading out all available data fields and performing over 50 plausibility checks per form, we support you beyond the mathematical reconciliation required as a minimum to uncover and challenge inconsistencies.

reconciliation-data-cruncher-1042-s-abgleich


1042-S Check
Automatic aggregation and reconciliation of the received and forwarded Reportable Amounts/Taxes forms the minimum reconciliation required by the IRS for each year of the certification period. Based on experience developed over years, identified differences are classified and prioritized in order to perform the subsequent detailed analysis in a targeted and efficient manner.

reconciliation-data-cruncher-reporting


Reporting
Our solution comes with a customizable sample text for the QI certification to the IRS and a total extract of the used data.

reconciliation-data-cruncher-compliance-by-design


Compliant by Design
Comments and changes are visible at any time and can be evaluated in summary. This allows the tool to be integrated into the banking process using the principle of dual control.
 

Kay Böhm

The Reconciliation Data Cruncher helps our customers to meet the stricter requirements of the 1042-S reporting reconciliation, as our tool not only gives them the differences in total (minimum requirement), but we also support them with more than 50 plausibility checks per form to detect errors at an early stage. Due to the technological support, the process is documented fluidly, quickly and comprehensively for third parties.

Kay Böhm, Director Financial Services Audit Banking, PwC Germany

Pricing

The price is an annual fee for the tool usage. All subsequent years starting from the 2nd certification period (2018) can be checked with our tool. New forms will be installed and made available as soon as possible.

Basic
5.000 €per year
  • Data Extraction
  • Plausibility Checks
  • Data Comparison
  • Reporting
  • Compliant by design
 
 

Get in Touch

Please enter your business email address if you would like to receive more information, a quote or a demo of this product. We will get back to you as soon as possible.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA. Read more about its Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.

check
Thank you for getting in touch with us. We will contact you as soon as possible.

FAQ

 

Qualified Intermediaries: Explained

 

Relevant for the applicability of the treaty are all customers who have U.S. securities in their portfolio that generate income (i.e. interest or dividends). The QI determines the tax residency of its customers and the applicable double tax treaty, applies the required tax rate to the income and regularly remits the withheld tax to the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (hereinafter referred to as IRS). Finally, annual reporting must be made separately by customer group and type of income, among other things, on Form 1042-S. Approximately 50 individual items of information must be reported on the form.


 

Why was the QI contract made?

 

As of January 1, 2001, the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (hereinafter referred to as IRS) required financial institutions worldwide to enter into a contract (hereinafter referred to as QI contract) that includes terms and conditions for documenting and monitoring customers and withholding tax on U.S. income. The starting point for the initial introduction in 2001 was that the U.S. assumed that many U.S. citizens had accounts/deposits with foreign banks and were not properly disclosing them on their tax returns (and thus avoiding taxes). This regulation therefore forms the basis for additional global tax transparency policies that exist today, e.g. FATCA (Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act), CRS (Common Reporting Standard)/AEOI (Automatic Exchange of Information).


 

In which way are FACTA and the Qualified Intermediary Agreement connected?

 

The contents of this contract were fundamentally revised as of 01.07.2014 and expanded to include various requirements from the FATCA regulations. The term of the current contract ends on 31.12.2022 and can only be extended by the QI itself via the IRS online portal. The previously known procedure of the periodic external audit (formerly QI audit; today Periodic Review) and the associated application for an audit exemption (so-called waiver) has been abolished with the new contract and the QIs are obliged to implement an internal "Compliance Procedure" (see Section 10 of the Revenue Procedure 2017-15). QI Qualified Intermediary is an intermediate custodian that has entered into a withholding agreement with the IRS.


What are the rights and obligations of Qualified Intermediaries?

 

QI's have the obligation to implement a compliance program in accordance with the QI Agreement, the obligation to properly document customers in accordance with the guidelines provided by the IRS. Furthermore, the obligation to comply with the regulations in the QI or private law agreement and the attachments applicable to the respective domiciliary countries to take into account national legitimation and documentation rules (attachments), the obligation to inform the upstream QI immediately of changes in its own QI status by means of a W-8IMY, act as a paying agent ("withholding agent") under IRC Chapter 3 (non-U.S. persons), Chapter 4 (FATCA) and Chapter 61 (U.S. persons) and to pay the withheld taxes to the IRS accordingly in full and on time. Lastly, to comply with the relevant reporting obligations (1042, 1042-S, 945, 1099), and meet the FATCA requirements applicable to it.


What is the role of a Responsible Officer(RO)?

 

The QI must appoint a Responsible Officer (RO) with sufficient authority (e.g., directive rights, audit and review) to perform the RO's duties and ensure compliance with QI compliance program requirements. The RO must be registered as an RO on the QI application and in the IRS's Account Management System. The primary responsibility of the RO QI (or delegate) is to establish an appropriate QI/FATCA compliance program that meets the requirements of Section 10 of the QI Agreement. In order to be able to fulfill these duties and, in particular, to determine the adequacy and effectiveness of the internal control system; they must subject it to a regular audit. The RO QI must act as the contact person for all QI relevant topics or requests regarding further documentation or additional review measures vis-à-vis to the IRS. He/she is responsible for the topic towards the IRS, is authorized to issue instructions to the relevant areas with regard to implementation and any corrections, and ultimately forms the final decision-making authority.


 

What is a QI Self-Certification?

 

In accordance with Section 10.03 of the QI Agreement, the Responsible Officer must make a so-called "periodic certification" to the IRS every three years. An important component of this is the certification of internal controls, whereby a distinction is made between a limited and an unlimited certification. A limited certification is required if there is either a so-called breach of contract (Event of Default) or a so-called material failure, which has not yet been remedied when the certification is submitted. The definition of material failures and breaches of contract are regulated in the QI contract, but contain various discretionary powers, which is why it is crucial to have comprehensible documentation on the exercise of these discretionary powers. In addition, the RO must document in writing all procedures, processes, reports, or certifications used to certify internal controls.


 

How is the sensitive data protected in the "Reconciliation Data Cruncher"?

 
  • The entire content of the tool will be completely deleted daily at the following time: 2 AM (UTC+1) Central European Time. Subsequent recovery is not possible. The data is thus stored for a maximum of 24 hours.
  • There is an import/export functionality to save the work status and continue the activity at the same place at any time. All information stored in the tool is saved. The zip file is encrypted with a password and cannot be changed.
  • The product is a PwC inhouse PaaS Solution with Security Clearance for Financial Sector Audit Engagement.
  • Client separation through separate container instances.

You might also be interested in:

Reconciliation Data Cruncher

Reconciliation Data Cruncher

Unkomplizierte Erfüllung der Pflichten als Qualified Intermediary

IRS hat Abstimmung der 1042-S Formulare zum Schwerpunkt für die anstehende Zertifizierung erklärt

Der sogenannte Qualified Intermediary (QI)-Vertrag wird zwischen der amerikanischen Steuerbehörde Internal Revenue Service (IRS) und nicht-amerikanischen Banken geschlossen. Er beinhaltet insbesondere Vorschriften für die Kundendokumentation, sowie zum Einbehalt und der Abführung von US-Quellensteuer, die für Erträge aus US-Wertpapieren anfallen. Weiterhin wird festgelegt, wie die Banken, die nun als Qualified Intermediary (QI) auftreten, die aggregierten steuerlichen Informationen von den vorgelagerten Lagerstellen (sog. received 1042-S forms) verarbeiten und an den IRS übermitteln (sog. issued 1042-S forms).

Im Grundsatz scheint es sehr einfach und einleuchtend, dass der jeweilige QI nur “reportable amounts” an seine Kunden weiterleiten kann, die er zuvor von seiner Lagerstelle erhalten hat. Seit Jahren ist jedoch bekannt, dass u.a. aufgrund unterschiedlicher Datenquellen, 871(m)-Regulatorik, zeitlicher Buchungsunterschiede, aber auch Meldungen mit einer falschen QI-Employer Identification Number (QI-EIN) es sehr schwer ist, eine Abstimmung der 1042-S Formulare durchzuführen. Nun hat der IRS die Abstimmung zu einem wesentlichen Thema für die Zertifizierungsperiode 2018 bis 2020 erklärt und gefordert, dass jeder Zertifizierung eines QI die entsprechenden 1042-S Abstimmungen für die zu zertifizierenden Kalenderjahre beizufügen ist. Diese soll dann als Basis dienen, um über die erfolgreiche Zertifizierung zu entscheiden. Darin festgestellte Differenzen und Inkonsistenzen werden von der Behörde hinterfragt werden und könnten bei Identifikation von Pflichtverletzungen des QI, zu empfindlichen Strafzahlungen führen.

Sind Sie darauf vorbereitet? Führen Sie bereits eine Abstimmung durch, die dem IRS zum Review und zum Abgleich mit seinen Daten zur Verfügung gestellt werden kann? Bei vielen Häusern sehen wir, dass die Abstimmung manuell durchgeführt wird, was bei oft über 100 zu analysierenden Formularen zu immanenten Fehlern führt. Diese manuelle Durchführung ist für viele Banken eine Herausforderung und kann bei teilweise Millionen von einzelnen Zahlungen sehr zeitintensiv sein.

Die Lösung zum effizienten Abgleich der 1042-S Formulare

Der Reconciliation Data Cruncher unterstützt Sie bei der Plausibilisierung und dem Abgleich aller 1042-S Formulare auf Differenzen.

In diesem webbasierten Tool haben wir die Erfahrungen der letzten 20 Jahre QI-Regime verarbeitet und bieten Ihnen nicht nur die simple Abstimmung Ihrer Meldungen, sondern auch eine ausführliche Plausibilitätsprüfung. Durch die intuitive Benutzeroberfläche können Sie das Tool ohne langwierige Eingewöhnung eigenständig nutzen und durch die integrierte Speicherung von geänderten Feldern kann dies Ihre bisher manuell durchgeführte Abstimmung ersetzen.

Die Vorteile unserer Lösung im Detail

reconciliation-data-cruncher-auslesen-der-inhalte


Auslesen der Inhalte
Die Inhalte auf den Meldungen werden durch die Software extrahiert und wandelt diese in ein maschinenlesbares Format um. Ein Abtippen der Formulare entfällt, einfache Übertragungsfehler werden vermieden und Sie und Ihre Mitarbeiter können sich auf die qualitative Arbeit konzentrieren.

reconciliation-data-cruncher-plausibilitätsprüfung


Plausibilitätsprüfung
Durch das Auslesen aller verfügbaren Datenfelder und über 50 Plausibilitätsprüfungen pro Formular unterstützen wir Sie über die als Minimum geforderte mathematische Abstimmung hinaus, um Inkonsistenzen aufzudecken und zu hinterfragen.

reconciliation-data-cruncher-1042-s-abgleich


1042-S Abgleich
Der automatische Aggregation und Abstimmung der erhaltenen und weitergeleiteten Reportable Amounts/ Steuern bildet die vom IRS geforderte Mindestabstimmung für jedes Jahr der Zertifizierungsperiode. Auf Basis von über Jahre entwickelten Erfahrungswerte erfolgt eine Klassifizierung und Priorisierung von identifizierten Differenzen, um die anschließende Detailanalyse zielgerichtet und effizient durchführen zu können.

reconciliation-data-cruncher-reporting


Reporting
Ein standardisierter, aber individualisierbarer Mustertext als Anhang für die QI-Zertifizierung ggü. dem IRS gibt einen klaren Rahmen vor und stellt sicher, dass alle relevanten Informationen enthalten sind. Ein Gesamtauszug der ausgelesenen Daten ermöglicht es Ihnen stets noch weitere Analysen durchzuführen und mit anderen Daten zu verbinden.

reconciliation-data-cruncher-compliance-by-design


Compliance by Design
Kommentare und Änderungen sind jederzeit ersichtlich und können zusammengefasst ausgewertet werden. Dies ermöglicht die Einbindung des Tools im 4-Augenprinzip in den Bankprozess.
 

Kay Böhm

Der Reconciliation Data Cruncher hilft unseren Kunden den verschärften Anforderungen der 1042-S Reportingabstimmung nachzukommen, da unser Tool ihnen nicht nur die Differenzen als Summe angibt (Mindestanforderung), sondern wir mit über 50 Plausibilisierungen pro Formular dabei unterstützen Fehler frühzeitig aufzudecken. Durch die technologische Unterstützung ist der Prozess flüssig, schnell und nachvollziehbar für Dritte dokumentiert.

Kay Böhm, Director Financial Services Audit Banking, PwC Deutschland

Preise

Der Preis versteht sich als jährliche Gebühr für die Nutzung des Tools. Alle Jahre ab der 2. Zertifizierungsperiode (2018) können mit unserem Tool überprüft werden. Neue Formulare werden schnellstmöglich eingebaut und zur Verfügung gestellt.

Basic
5.000 €je Kalenderjahr
  • Auslesen der Inhalte
  • Plausibilitätsprüfung
  • Datenabgleich
  • Reporting
  • Compliance by Design
 
 

Erfüllen Sie Ihre Pflichten als Qualified Intermediary zuverlässig und effizient

Bitte tragen Sie Ihre geschäftliche E-Mail-Adresse ein, falls Sie mehr Informationen, ein Angebot oder eine Demo dieses Produkts bekommen möchten. Wir melden uns schnellstmöglich bei Ihnen.

Das Formular ist geschützt durch reCAPTCHA. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in den Datenschutzbestimmungen und Teilnahmebedingungen.

check
Gesendet. Vielen Dank für Ihr Interesse! Wir werden uns schnellstmöglich bei Ihnen melden.

FAQ

 

QI in einem Satz

 

Relevant für die Anwendbarkeit des Vertrages sind alle Kunden, die US-Wertpapiere in ihrem Depot haben, die Erträge (d.h. Zinsen oder Dividenden) generieren. Der QI stellt die steuerliche Ansässigkeit seiner Kunden und das somit anzuwendende Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen fest, wendet den erforderlichen Steuersatz auf die Erträge an und führt die einbehaltene Steuer regelmäßig an die US-Steuerbehörde Internal Revenue Service (nachfolgende IRS genannt) ab. Schließlich hat jährlich ein Reporting u.a. nach Kundengruppen und Ertragsarten getrennt auf dem Formular 1042-S zu erfolgen. Auf dem Formular sind ca. 50 Einzelangaben zu machen.


 

Warum wurde der QI-Vertrag vereinbart?

 

Die US-Steuerbehörde Internal Revenue Service (nachfolgend IRS genannt) verpflichtete ab dem 1.1.2001 weltweit die Kreditinstitute zu einem Vertrag (nachfolgend QI-Vertrag genannt), der Bedingungen zur Dokumentation und Überwachung von Kunden und den Einbehalt von Quellensteuer auf US-Erträge beinhaltet. Ausgangslage für die initiale Einführung im Jahr 2001 war, dass die USA annehmen, dass viele US-Bürger Konten/Depots bei ausländischen Banken haben und diese nicht ordnungsgemäß in ihrer Steuererklärung offenlegen (und somit Steuern vermeiden). Diese Regulierung bildet somit die Grundlage für weitere heute zusätzlich bestehenden weltweiten Steuertransparenzoffensiven z.B. FATCA (Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act), CRS (Common Reporting Standard)/AEOI (Automatic Exchange of Information).


 

Wie hängen FATCA und das Qualified Intermediary Agreement genau zusammen?

 

Die Inhalte dieses Vertrages wurden zum 01.07.2014 grundlegend überarbeitet und um diverse Anforderungen aus den FATCA-Regularien erweitert. Die Laufzeit des aktuellen Vertrages endet zum 31.12.2022 und kann ausschließlich von dem QI selbst über das IRS-Online-Portal verlängert werden. Das bisher bekannte Prozedere der regelmäßigen Außenprüfung (ehemals QI-Prüfung; heute Periodic Review) und der damit verbundenen Beantragung einer Prüfungsbefreiung (sog. Waiver) wurde mit dem neuen Vertrag abgeschafft und die QIs verpflichtet ein internes „Compliance Procedure“ (siehe Section 10 des Revenue Procedure 2017-15) einzuführen. QI Qualified Intermediary ein Zwischenverwahrer, der mit dem IRS eine Abzugsvereinbarung getroffen hat.


Welche Rechte und Pflichten ergeben sich für Qualified Intermediaries?

 

Die Verpflichtung ein Compliance Programm gemäß dem QI-Agreement einzuführen, die Verpflichtung zur ordnungsgemäßen Dokumentation der Kunden gemäß den vom IRS vorgegebenen Richtlinien, die Einhaltung der Regelungen im QI- bzw. privatrechtlichen Vertrag und den für die jeweiligen Sitz-Länder geltenden Anlagen zur Berücksichtigung nationaler Legitimations- und Dokumentationsregeln (Attachments), die Verpflichtung den vorgelagerten QI unverzüglich über die Änderungen des eigenen QI-Status mittels eines W-8IMY zu informieren, als Zahlstelle („withholding agent“) gemäß IRC Chapter 3 (Nicht-US-Personen), Chapter 4 (FATCA) und Chapter 61 (US-Personen) zu handeln, die einbehaltenen Steuern entsprechend vollständig und fristgerecht an den IRS abzuführen, den entsprechenden Reporting-Verpflichtungen (1042, 1042-S, 945, 1099) nachzukommen, sowie die auf ihn anwendbaren FATCA-Anforderungen zu erfüllen.


Was ist der Responsible Officer (RO) ?

 

Der QI muss einen Responsible Officer (RO) mit ausreichenden Befugnissen (z.B. Weisungsrechte, Prüfung und Kontrolle) ernennen, um die Aufgaben des RO zu erfüllen und die Einhaltung der Anforderungen an ein QI-Compliance-Programm sicherzustellen. Der RO muss auf dem QI-Antrag und im Account Management System des IRS als RO registriert sein. Die Hauptaufgabe des RO QI (oder eines Delegierten) ist es, ein entsprechendes QI/FATCA-Compliance-Programm zu errichten, das den Anforderungen der Section 10 des QI-Vertrages entspricht. Um diesen Aufgaben nachkommen zu können und insbesondere die Angemessenheit und Wirksamkeit des internen Kontrollsystems feststellen zu können, hat er dieses regelmäßig einer Prüfung zu unterziehen. Der RO QI muss als Kontaktperson für alle QI relevanten Themen oder Anfragen hinsichtlich weiterer Unterlagen oder zusätzlicher Überprüfungsmaßnahmen gegenüber dem IRS fungieren. Er verantwortet das Thema gegenüber dem IRS, ist hinsichtlich der Umsetzung und bei etwaigen Korrekturen gegenüber den relevanten Bereichen weisungsbefugt und bildet schlussendlich die finale Entscheidungsinstanz.


 

Was ist die Selbstzertifizierung?

 

Der Responsible Officer muss entsprechend Section 10.03 des QI-Vertrags alle drei Jahre eine sog. „regelmäßige Zertifizierung“ gegenüber dem IRS vornehmen. Wichtiger Bestandteil ist hierbei die Zertifizierung der internen Kontrollen, wobei zwischen einer eingeschränkten und einer uneingeschränkten Zertifizierung unterschieden wird. Eine eingeschränkte Zertifizierung ist erforderlich, wenn entweder eine sog. Vertragsverletzung (Event of Default) vorliegt oder ein sog. wesentlicher Fehler (Material Failure) vorliegt, welcher bei der Abgabe der Zertifizierung noch nicht behoben wurde. Die Definition von wesentlichen Fehlern und Vertragsverletzungen sind im QI-Vertrag geregelt, enthalten jedoch diverse Ermessensspielräume, weshalb es entscheidend ist eine nachvollziehbare Dokumentation zur Ausübung dieser Ermessensspielräume zu haben. Im Übrigen hat der RO sämtliche Verfahren, Prozesse, Berichte oder Zertifizierungen schriftlich dokumentieren, die er für die Zertifizierung der internen Kontrollen herangezogen hat.


 

Wie werden die sensiblen Daten im “Reconciliation Data Cruncher” geschützt?

 
  • Der gesamte Inhalt des Tools wird zu der folgenden Zeit vollständig gelöscht: 2 AM (UTC+1) Central European Time. Eine nachträgliche Wiederherstellung ist nicht möglich. Die Daten werden somit maximal 24 Stunden gespeichert.
  • Es besteht eine Import-/Exportfunktionalität um den Arbeitsstand zu speichern und jederzeit die Tätigkeit an gleicher Stelle fortzusetzen. Hierbei werden alle im Tool hinterlegten Informationen gespeichert. Die Zip-Datei ist mit einem Passwort verschlüsselt und darf bzw. kann nicht geändert werden.
  • Inhouse PwC PaaS Solution mit Sicherheitsfreigabe für Financial Sector Audit Engagement
  • Mandantentrennung durch separate Container-Instanzen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: