EN
keyboard_arrow_down
Choose a language:

Insurance Results Projector – Data-driven risk analysis

Data Analytics solution for insurance companies to predict claim expenses

Key benefits at a glance

  • Efficient prediction of underwriting results including robustness test
  • Validated procedure, which is continuously further developed
  • Individual estimation of expenses for insurance claims incl. risk assessment for your portfolios
  • Acceleration of the business planning process
  • Modern graphical presentation of the results

 

Your challenge in predictive risk analysis

For insurance companies in the property and casualty sector, the estimation of future underwriting results is a particular challenge due to the estimation uncertainty regarding future risks. The forecast of the expected underwriting results is complex, especially since influencing factors such as natural disasters are difficult to grasp. However, the expected results are highly relevant for numerous business areas.


Property and casualty insurance companies require forward-looking underwriting for the following occasions:

  • Valuation of portfolios in the context of purchase and sale decisions
  • German GAAP requirements, for example the forecast as part of the annual report
  • Underwriting/Pricing
  • Risk management and controlling
  • Back-testing to determine the quality of historically estimated underwriting results 
For the implementation of such estimates, high costs are usually incurred, especially for software and staff. In addition, the reduction of the processing effort through the use of modern IT applications seems to have failed so far. This is because, despite the advancing digitalisation, insurance companies have to determine numerous variables and assumptions for the forecast of underwriting results.

 

 

Our solution – Insurance Results Projector

With the Insurance Results Projector we handle the estimation of underwriting results for you. The data analytics solution for insurance companies estimates future profits from portfolios of property and casualty insurance contracts based on historical data. The prediction can be made for both insurance and reinsurance contracts and is based on previously formed portfolios of homogeneous insurance contracts. For this purpose, expected values are determined with regard to all P&L-relevant items such as premiums, operating expenses and expenses for insurance claims.

PwC is the market leader in Germany in the field of annual audits of insurance companies. For this reason, we have ourselves already successfully applied the Insurance Results Projector in the context of numerous annual audits and further optimised it through our own experience.

The estimation of claims expenses is done in 4 steps:

01

Import of historical loss frequencies and amounts

First, we extract your actual historical loss frequencies and amounts separately for each portfolio from your accounting system and import them into the Insurance Results Projector. Based on the assumptions determined by our industry experts, the data is then normalised to today's conditions by the Insurance Results Projector (indexation).

02

Graphic preparation and probability distribution

The Insurance Results Projector then graphically prepares the normalised loss frequencies and the average loss amounts. Our industry experts determine the probability distribution for these two variables.

03

Predictive Analytics

On the basis of the determined probability distribution of the variables "loss frequency" and "average loss amount", the loss expenses are now estimated by a Monte Carlo simulation (predictive analytics). This takes particular account of the random risk as a component of the underwriting risk.

04

Risk assessment

The position of the projected loss expenses in the historical probability distribution thus allows a final risk assessment to be made with regard to the amount of the loss expenses.

Benefits of the Insurance Results Projector

content_pasteEstimation of all P&L-relevant items

Complete estimation of all P&L-relevant items such as premiums, operating expenses and expenses for insurance claims

groupDefinition of variables

Necessary variables/assumptions are defined in consultation with you by experts from PwC Germany

assessment Assessment and risk evaluation

Probability-weighted assessment and risk evaluation of estimated expenses for insurance claims

verified_userValidated procedure

Reliability and appropriateness of the procedure has been confirmed by the use of the Insurance Results Projector in numerous annual audits of insurance companies by the market leader PwC

cachedEnd-to-end service

From data procurement to the definition of assumptions to the graphical preparation of the results

euro_symbolCost savings and efficiency
Savings in staff expenses and relief for the controlling department
 

Pricing

The portfolios are not clear or you have another special requirement? Then please contact us and we will prepare an individual offer for you.

Small
€ 27,500
  • Includes 5 portfolios 
  • 2 runs for each portfolio with different variables
  • 5 users inclusive
  • We calculate all neccessary variables for the prediction
  • Provide us with access to your accounting system and we will extract the historical data ourselves (full service from end to end, from data extraction to the prediction)
Large
€ 57,750
  • Includes 15 portfolios 
  • 2 runs for each portfolio with different variables
  • 5 users inclusive
  • We calculate all neccessary variables for the prediction
  • Provide us with access to your accounting system and we will extract the historical data ourselves (full service from end to end, from data extraction to the prediction)

Get in touch

Please provide your company​ email address if you would like to receive more information, an offer or a demo of this product. We will contact you as soon as possible.

check

Thank you for registering, we will keep you updated

FAQ

What is predictive analytics?

Predictive analytics is the determination of future profits (here: insurance results) based on historical data, statistical methods and machine learning.

What is a robustness test?

The robustness test (negative test) ensures that the inputs and assumptions made in the context of an improper application, e.g. through inappropriate, incorrect or no data input at all, are also recognisable as such and thus no further processing of the results takes place.

What is a homogeneous portfolio?

A portfolio is a homogeneous group of insurance contracts. As the simplest method, insurance contracts can be clustered on the basis of the line of business. Depending on the business activity, other criteria such as geographical components may be useful for portfolio formation.

Why are risk analyses particularly relevant for the insurance industry?

On the basis of order books and known acquisition and production costs, industrial companies have the possibility to make relatively reliable estimates of profit forecasts. In contrast, the estimation of claims expenses for insurance companies results in a significantly higher estimation uncertainty. This is due in particular to the assumption of the random risk as a component of the underwriting risk by the insurance company. Because it has been proven that, at least to a certain extent, damage occurs by chance. Therefore, in addition to the forecast of expenses for claims not yet settled, a risk analysis should be carried out in relation to the expected amounts.

What does the future of the digital insurance industry look like?

IT-supported progress is currently a strong focus in the insurance industry. In addition to online claims reports, customer apps and cooperation with digital companies, automation using blockchain technology could save a considerable amount of administrative work in the future.

You might also be interested in:

DE
keyboard_arrow_down
Sprache wählen:

Insurance Results Projector – Datengetriebene Risikoanalyse

Data-Analytics-Lösung für Versicherungsunternehmen zur Vorhersage von Schadenaufwendungen

Die wichtigsten Vorteile auf einen Blick

  • Effiziente Prognose von versicherungstechnischen Ergebnissen inklusive Robustheitstest
  • Validiertes Verfahren, welches kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt wird 
  • Individuelle Schätzung der Aufwendungen für Versicherungsfälle inkl. Risikobewertung für Ihre Portfolios
  • Beschleunigung des Unternehmensplanungsprozesses
  • Zeitgemäße grafische Aufbereitung der Ergebnisse

Ihre Herausforderung bei der prädiktiven Risikoanalyse

 

Für Schaden-/Unfallversicherungsunternehmen stellt die Schätzung der zukünftigen versicherungstechnischen Ergebnisse aufgrund der Schätzunsicherheit bzgl. zukünftiger Risiken eine besondere Herausforderung dar. Die Prognose der zu erwartenden versicherungstechnischen Ergebnisse gestaltet sich vor allem durch die nur schwer greifbaren Einflussfaktoren wie beispielsweise Naturkatastrophen komplex. Gleichzeitig sind allerdings verlässlich prognostizierte Gewinne für zahlreiche Unternehmensbereiche hochgradig relevant. 

Schaden- und Unfallversicherungsunternehmen benötigen unter anderem für folgende Anlässe eine vorausschauende Risikoprüfung:

  • Bewertung von Portfolios im Rahmen von Kauf- und Verkaufsentscheidungen
  • Gesetzliche Anforderungen beispielsweise im Prognosebericht
  • Underwriting/Pricing
  • Risikosteuerung und Controlling
  • Back-Testing zur Bestimmung der Qualität von historisch geschätzten versicherungstechnischen Ergebnissen

Für die Durchführung von derartigen Schätzungen werden meist hohe Kosten insbesondere für Software und Personal aufgewendet. Zudem erscheint die Reduzierung des Bearbeitungsaufwandes durch den Einsatz von modernen IT-Anwendungen bisher ausgeblieben zu sein. Denn trotz der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung müssen Versicherungsunternehmen zahlreiche Variablen und Annahmen für die Prognose der versicherungstechnischen Ergebnisse festlegen.

 

Unsere Lösung – Insurance Results Projector

Mit dem Insurance Results Projector übernehmen wir für Sie die Schätzung von versicherungstechnischen Ergebnissen. Die Data-Analytics-Lösung für Versicherungsgesellschaften schätzt auf Basis von Vergangenheitsdaten die zukünftigen Gewinne aus Portfolios von Schaden- und Unfallversicherungsverträgen. Die Prognose kann sowohl für Versicherungs- als auch für Rückversicherungsverträge vorgenommen werden und erfolgt auf Basis von zuvor gebildeten Portfolios aus homogenen Versicherungsverträgen. Hierfür werden Erwartungswerte in Bezug auf alle GuV- relevanten Posten wie Beiträge, Aufwendungen für den Versicherungsbetrieb und Aufwendungen für Versicherungsfälle ermittelt.

PwC ist in Deutschland Marktführer im Bereich der Jahresabschlussprüfung von Versicherungsunternehmen.
Aus diesem Grund haben wir den Insurance Results Projector bereits selbst im Rahmen von zahlreichen Jahresabschlussprüfungen erfolgreich eingesetzt und durch eigene Erfahrungswerte weiter optimiert.

 

Die Schätzung der Schadenaufwendungen erfolgt in 4 Schritten:

01

Import von Schadenhäufigkeiten und -höhen

Zunächst extrahieren wir aus Ihrem Buchführungssystem Ihre tatsächlichen historischen Schadenhäufigkeiten und -höhen getrennt für jedes Portfolio und importieren diese in den Insurance Results Projector. Auf Basis der durch unsere Branchenexpert:innen festgelegten Annahmen, erfolgt eine anschließende Normierung der Daten auf die heutigen Verhältnisse durch den Insurance Results Projector (Indexierung).

02

Grafische Aufbereitung und Wahrscheinlichkeitsverteilung

Der Insurance Results Projector bereitet daraufhin die normierten Schadenhäufigkeiten und die durchschnittlichen Schadenhöhen grafisch auf. Unsere Branchenexpert:innnen ermitteln nun für diese beiden Variablen die Wahrscheinlichkeitsverteilung.

03

Predictive Analytics

Auf Basis der ermittelten Wahrscheinlichkeitsverteilung der Variablen „Schadenhäufigkeit” und „durchschnittliche Schadenhöhe” werden nun die Schadenaufwendungen  durch eine Monte-Carlo-Simulation geschätzt (Predictive Analytics). Hierdurch wird insbesondere dem Zufallsrisiko als Bestandteil des versicherungstechnischen Risikos Rechnung getragen.

04

Risikobeurteilung

Durch die Lage der prognostizierten Schadenaufwendungen in der historischen Wahrscheinlichkeitsverteilung kann so abschließend eine Risikobeurteilung in Bezug auf die Höhe der Schadenaufwendungen vorgenommen werden.

Die Vorteile des Insurance Results Projectors

content_pasteSchätzung der GuV-relevanten Posten

Vollständige Schätzung aller GuV-relevanten Posten wie Beiträge, Aufwendungen für den Versicherungsbetrieb und Aufwendungen für Versicherungsfälle

groupDefinition von Variablen

Notwendige Variablen/Annahmen werden in Absprache mit Ihnen durch Expert:innen von PwC Deutschland definiert

assessmentBeurteilung und Risikobewertung

Wahrscheinlichkeitsgewichtete Beurteilung und Risikobewertung der geschätzten Aufwendungen für Versicherungsfälle

verified_userValidiertes Verfahren

Verlässlichkeit und Angemessenheit des Verfahrens wurde durch den Einsatz des Insurance Results Projectors bei zahlreichen Jahresabschlussprüfungen von Versicherungsunternehmen durch den Marktführer PwC bestätigt

cachedEnd-to-End Service

Von der Datenbeschaffung über die Festlegung von Annahmen bis hin zur grafischen Aufbereitung der Ergebnisse

euro_symbolKosteneinsparungen und Effizienz
Einsparung von Personalaufwendungen und Entlastung der Controlling-Abteilung
 

Preise

Sie haben Fragen zu den Paketen oder haben spezielle Anforderungen? Kontaktieren Sie uns und wir erstellen ein individuelles Angebot für Sie!

Small
27.500 €
  • Enthält 5 Portfolios 
  • 2 Durchläufe für jedes Portfolio mit verschiedenen Variablen
  • 5 Nutzer inklusive
  • Wir berechnen alle notwendigen Variablen für die Vorhersage
  • Sie gewähren uns Zugang zu Ihrem Buchhaltungssystem, und wir extrahieren die historischen Daten für Sie (Komplettservice von der Datenextraktion bis zur Vorhersage)
Large
57.750 €
  • Enthält 15 Portfolios
  • 2 Durchläufe für jedes Portfolio mit verschiedenen Variablen
  • 5 Nutzer inklusive
  • Wir berechnen alle notwendigen Variablen für die Vorhersage
    Sie gewähren uns Zugang zu Ihrem Buchhaltungssystem, und wir extrahieren die historischen Daten für Sie (Komplettservice von der Datenextraktion bis zur Vorhersage)

Jetzt mehr erfahren

Bitte tragen Sie Ihre geschäftliche E-Mail-Adresse ein, um weitere Informationen, ein Angebot oder eine Demo dieses Produkts zu erhalten. Wir setzen uns so schnell wie möglich mit Ihnen in Verbindung.

check

Vielen Dank für die Registrierung, wir werden Sie über Neuigkeiten informieren

FAQ

Was ist Predictive Analytics?

Predictive Analytics ist die Bestimmung von zukünftigen Resultaten (hier: versicherungstechnische Ergebnisse) auf der Grundlage von historischen Daten, statistischen Verfahren und Machine Learning.

Was ist ein Robustheitstest?

Durch den Robustheitstest (Negativattest) wird sichergestellt, dass die Eingaben und Annahmen im Rahmen einer unsachgemäßen Anwendung z.B. durch nicht angemessene, falsche oder gar keine Dateneingabe auch als solche erkennbar werden und so keine Weiterverarbeitung der Ergebnisse erfolgt.

Was ist ein homogenes Portfolio?

Ein Portfolio ist eine homogene Gruppe von Versicherungsverträgen. Als einfachste Methode können Versicherungsverträge anhand der Hauptversicherungszweige geclustert werden. Je nach Geschäftstätigkeit sind ggf. weitere Kriterien wie z.B. geografische Komponenten zur Portfoliobildung sinnvoll.

Warum sind Risikoanalysen insbesondere für die Versicherungsbranche relevant?

Auf Basis der Auftragsbücher und bekannter Anschaffungs- und Herstellungskosten ergibt sich für Industrieunternehmen die Möglichkeit zur relativ verlässlichen Schätzung von Gewinnprognosen. Im Gegensatz hierzu ergibt sich bei der Schätzung der Schadenaufwendungen bei Versicherungsunternehmen eine deutlich höhere Schätzunsicherheit. Dies ist insbesondere auf die Übernahme des Zufallsrisikos als Bestandteil des versicherungstechnischen Risikos durch die Versicherungsgesellschaft zurückzuführen. Denn es hat sich bewahrheitet, dass zumindest zu einem gewissen Anteil Schäden zufällig eintreten. Insgesamt sollte daher neben der Prognose der Aufwendungen für noch nicht abgewickelte Versicherungsfälle eine Risikoanalyse in Bezug auf die erwarteten Beträge erfolgen.

Wie sieht die Zukunft der digitalen Versicherungsbranche aus?

Der IT-gestützte Fortschritt steht in der Versicherungsbranche aktuell stark im Fokus. Neben Online-Schadenmeldungen, Kunden-Apps und Kooperationen mit digitalen Unternehmen, könnten zukünftig durch Automatisierungen mittels Blockchain-Technologie ein erheblicher Teil der Verwaltungsarbeiten eingespart werden.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren