EN
keyboard_arrow_down
Choose a language:

Sustainability Tracker – Sustainable supply chain management

Integrated SaaS solution for comprehensive supply chain transparency
  • There is increasing pressure from stricter regulations: The Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD) in particular aims to ensure greater transparency with regard to sustainable business practices by companies, which also includes the impact on the supply chain.
  • Also investors, business partners and end consumers are increasingly interested in supply chain transparency

Challenges in supply chain transparency on environmental, economic and social impacts

Companies are faced with the challenge of identifying, tracking and reducing their emissions and their impact on the environment, climate and society. This confronts them with the question: "How can I measure and reduce the upstream environmental and social impacts of my suppliers?"

Sustainability in the supply chain has various dimensions. Among other things, the issue of climate protection is increasingly in focus. A large proportion of emissions are generated in the upstream value chain (scope 3 emissions from purchased goods and services). In order to achieve state-of-the-art climate targets and meet stakeholder expectations, it is therefore essential that climate protection is also taken into account in procurement and integrated into the relevant business processes. Due to the complexity and lack of data availability from suppliers when calculating scope 3 emissions, companies are faced with the challenge of calculating these holistically and efficiently. 

Reporting standards

Uniform criteria and reporting standards are needed in order to take concrete actions and measure their impact. In this way, companies can track their emissions along the supply chain and identify the potential for improving them. The Greenhouse Gas Protocol has therefore designed a comprehensive, globally standardised framework for measuring and managing greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions from the private and public sectors. The GHG Protocol divides emissions into three scopes: scope 1, 2 and 3.

 

Scope 1

Direct emissions from business activities such as fuel combustion and the company's own vehicle fleet, which are comparatively easy to determine through knowledge of precise consumption figures. 

Scope 2

Indirect emissions from e.g. purchased electricity are also relatively easy to determine in a standardised manner via invoices or meter readings.

Scope 3

Includes emissions resulting from activities arising from the company's value chain (e.g. from business travel, purchased goods and services). Activity data for the scope 3 category is much more difficult to collect and is not available by default in many companies.

Sustainability Tracker – Your path to sustainable supply chain management

The Sustainability Tracker makes it possible to assess the impact of purchasing behaviour on corporate sustainability. The integrated SaaS solution can identify the impacts of the upstream supply chain in more than 80 dimensions (e.g. greenhouse gases, water consumption) from the environmental and social areas. Companies can incorporate this understanding into their procurement process to actively contribute to a more sustainable supply chain.

Data collection

The Sustainability Tracker combines the purchasing and supplier master data information you already have from your procurement and ERP systems with the sustainability indicators from PwC's ESCHER (Efficient Supply Chain Emissions Reporting) input-output model. This enables a macroeconomic analysis of  environmental and social impacts generated along the upstream supply chain. ESCHER combines data from various databases and follows the methodology of the Global Trade Analysis Project (GTAP). On the basis of the ESCHER model, ecological, social and economic data are linked to the existing purchasing data. As a result, transparency is created on direct suppliers (tier 1) as well as indirect suppliers (tier 1-n). As one of the multiple dimensions, the tool shows a large part of the scope 3 emissions of the upstream value chain. In order for the macroeconomic analysis to be as accurate as possible, qualitative purchasing data from customers must be made available. 

Impact-analysis

The tool allows dynamic filtering of the evaluated supplier data such as the supplier's region, the commodity group and the purchasing volume. The related environmental and social impacts can then be viewed in total and compared with each other.  

Drill-down function

The function enables an individual analysis per stored supplier at the level of regions, commodity groups and suppliers.

Mitigation Strategy Dashboard

In the dashboard, mitigation strategies such as industry solution, supplier engagement, implementation of SBT or even passive management can be selected to assign suppliers or commodity groups to mitigation projects. The strategies are customisable for clients. 

Mitigation Projects

In the Mitigation Strategy Dashboard, mitigation projects can be created to set targets such as the reduction of GHG emissions or water consumption. Within a project, suppliers or commodity groups are assigned to the project and can be tracked via project tracking.

Project tracking

The status and progress of the projects is documented in the project tracking. All mitigation projects are visualised in order to have an overview of the required resources, the project progress and the time schedule.

The advantages of the Sustainability Tracker

Quick overview

You get a quick and complete overview of the ecological and economic in your supply chain. Furthermore first social factors are available and are constantly being further developed.

Interfaces

Interface to various purchasing systems, extracting the relevant purchasing data from the purchasing system and linking it to the underlying data model from PwC Germany (ESCHER).

Lean approach

Lean approach that combines a comprehensive macroeconomic analysis of suppliers' impacts on the environment, climate and society for more than 80 dimensions and a long-term impact management process and management tool.

Transparency

Strengthening transparency along the supply chain and contributing to uncovering potential for reducing the environmental and social impacts of the companys' suppliers.

Sustainability report

The results can be included in your companys’ sustainability report as part of GHG scope 3 reporting

Compliance

Companies meet the increased requirements of investors, business partners and end users, as well as regulations. 

Pricing

from € 40,000per year
  • Licence fee per year with individual login access to the application

Get in touch

Please provide your company​ email address if you would like to receive more information, an offer or a demo of this product. We will contact you as soon as possible.

check

Thank you for registering, we will keep you updated

FAQ

What is PwC's ESCHER model?

The environmental, economic and social impacts of our clients' business activities are often very complex due to the global interconnection of supply structures. Through a global impact analysis of sectoral and international supply chains, we use the ESCHER approach to determine direct and indirect effects of corporate activity and identify key drivers of these effects along the supply chain. With the help of input-output models that map international input linkages, we determine, for example, the CO2 footprint triggered by corporate activity or land and water use. Such an analysis allows us to identify opportunities and risks along the supply chain and thus supports your sustainability management.

Why is a transparent supply chain useful and necessary?

Transparent supply chains make processes such as purchasing, logistics and sales more quantifiable for the company itself as well as for stakeholders. In addition to a trusting effect on the outside, they can also create potential for promoting internal mechanisms.

What impact do upstream supply chains have on my company's environmental and social performance?

Upstream supply chains are becoming more and more important for the product life cycle due to a growing share of value creation and therefore also have ecological and social impacts. If critical suppliers do not comply with environmental and social standards as part of the product life cycle, this has a direct impact on the product

 

Furthermore, critical suppliers can also have a negative impact on the company through the allocation of GHG emissions from the upstream supply chain to the GHG reporting of the own company.

 

You might also be interested in:

DE
keyboard_arrow_down
Sprache wählen:

Sustainability Tracker – Nachhaltiges Lieferkettenmanagement

Integrierte SaaS-Lösung für eine umfassende Lieferkettentransparenz
  • Der Druck seitens strenger werdender Regulatorik erhöht sich: Insbesondere die Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD) verfolgt das Ziel, für mehr Transparenz im Hinblick auf nachhaltiges Wirtschaften von Unternehmen zu sorgen, was ebenfalls die Auswirkungen auf die Lieferkette umfasst. 
  •  Auf der anderen Seite steigt seitens Investor:innen, Geschäftspartner:innen und Endverbraucher:innen das Interesse und der Bedarf an Nachhaltigkeit in der Supply Chain. 

Herausforderungen bei der Lieferkettentransparenz über ökologische, ökonomische und soziale Auswirkungen

Unternehmen stehen vor der Herausforderung, ihre Emissionen und ihren Einfluss auf Umwelt, Klima und Gesellschaft ermitteln, tracken und vermindern zu müssen. Damit stehen sie unter anderem vor der Frage: „Wie kann ich die vorgelagerten ökologischen und sozialen Auswirkungen meiner Lieferanten messen und reduzieren?" 

Nachhaltigkeit in der Lieferkette hat diverse Dimensionen. Unter anderem steht das Thema Klimaschutz zunehmend im Fokus. Ein großer Teil von Emissionen entsteht in der vorgelagerten Wertschöpfungskette (sog. Scope-3-Emissionen aus eingekauften Waren und Dienstleistungen). Für das Erreichen von state-of-the art Klimazielen und um die Erwartungen der Stakeholder zu erfüllen, ist es daher unabdinglich, auch im Einkauf das Thema Klimaschutz mitzudenken und in den entsprechenden Prozessen zu integrieren. Auf Grund der Komplexität und mangelnden Datenverfügbarkeit von Lieferanten bei der Berechnung von Scope-3-Emissionen, stehen Unternehmen vor der Herausforderung, diese ganzheitlich und effizient zu berechnen.

Reporting-Standards

Um konkrete Maßnahmen zu treffen und deren Auswirkungen zu messen, sind einheitliche Kriterien und Reporting-Standards nötig. Nur so können Unternehmen ihre Emissionen entlang der Lieferkette nachvollziehen – und letztendlich die Potenziale zur Reduktion dieser erkennen. Das Greenhouse Gas Protocol hat daher umfassende, weltweit standardisierte Rahmenbedingungen für die Messung und das Management von Treibhausgasemissionen (GHG) aus dem privaten und öffentlichen Sektor entworfen. Das GHG-Protokoll unterteilt die Emissionen in drei Bereiche: Scope 1, 2 und 3.

Scope 1

Direkte Emissionen aus den unternehmerischen Aktivitäten wie Kraftstoffverbrennung und eigenen Fahrzeugflotte, welche durch das Wissen um genaue Verbrauchszahlen vergleichsweise einfach zu ermitteln sind.

Scope 2

Indirekte Emissionen aus z.B. eingekauften Strom sind ebenfalls über Rechnungen oder Stromzähler standardisiert zu ermitteln.

Scope 3

Hierunter fallen Emissionen, die aus Aktivitäten resultieren, die in der Wertschöpfungskette des Unternehmens entstehen (z.B. aus Geschäftsreisen, eingekauften Waren und Dienstleistungen). Aktivitätsdaten für die Kategorie Scope 3 sind wesentlich schwieriger zu erheben und liegen in vielen Unternehmen nicht standardmäßig vor.

Sustainability Tracker – Ihr Weg zum nachhaltigen Lieferkettenmanagement

Der Sustainability Tracker ermöglicht es, die Auswirkungen des Einkaufsverhaltens auf die Nachhaltigkeit des Unternehmens zu bewerten. Die integrierte SaaS-Lösung kann die Auswirkungen der vorgelagerten Lieferkette in mehr als 80 Dimensionen (z.B. Treibhausgasemissionen, Wasserkonsum) aus den Bereichen Umwelt und Soziales ermitteln. Dieses Verständnis können Unternehmen in ihren Beschaffungsprozess einfließen lassen, um somit aktiv zu einer nachhaltigeren Lieferkette beizutragen.

Datenerhebung

Der Sustainability Tracker vereint Ihre aus dem Beschaffungs- und ERP-System bereits vorliegenden Informationen zu Einkaufs- und Lieferantenstammdaten mit den Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren aus dem ESCHER  (Efficient Supply Chain Emissions Reporting) Input-Output Modell von PwC. Somit ermöglicht das Tool eine makroökonomische Analyse der ökologischen und sozialen Auswirkungen der vorgelagerten Lieferkette. ESCHER kombiniert Daten aus diversen Datenbanken wie dem Global Trade Analysis Project (GTAP). Auf Basis des ESCHER Modells werden ökologische, soziale und ökonomische Daten mit den vorhandenen Einkaufsdaten verknüpft. Als Ergebnis wird Transparenz zu den unmittelbaren Lieferanten (tier 1) als auch mittelbaren Lieferanten (tier 1-n) geschaffen. Als einer der vielfältigen Dimensionen zeigt das Tool somit einen Großteil der Scope-3-Emissionen der vorgelagerten Wertschöpfungskette. Damit die makroökonomische Analyse möglichst präzise ist, müssen qualitative Einkaufsdaten der Kund:innen zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

 

Impact-Analyse

Das Tool ermöglicht eine dynamische Filtermöglichkeit nach den ausgewerteten Lieferantendaten wie der Region des Lieferanten, der Warengruppe und dem Einkaufsvolumen. Die damit zusammenhängenden ökologischen und sozialen Auswirkungen können dann gesamthaft betrachtet und miteinander verglichen werden

Drill-down-Funktion

Durch die Funktion ist eine individuelle Analyse pro hinterlegten Lieferanten auf Ebene von Regionen, Warengruppen und Lieferanten möglich.

Mitigation Strategy Dashboard

Im Dashboard können Mitigationsstrategien wie Supplier Engagement, Industrielösung, Anschluss an SBT seitens eines Lieferanten oder auch passives Management ausgewählt werden, um die Lieferanten oder Warengruppen Mitigationsprojekten zuzuordnen. Die Strategien sind für Kund:innen individuell anpassbar. 

Mitigationsprojekte

Im Mitigation Strategy Dashboard können Mitigationsprojekte zur Setzung von Zielen wie z. B. die Reduktion von GHG Emissionen oder Wasserverbrauch in der Lieferkette erstellt werden. Innerhalb eines Projektes werden die Lieferanten oder Warengruppen dem Projekt zugeordnet und können über das Projekt-Tracking nachverfolgt werden.

Projekt-Tracking

Der Status und Fortschritt der Projekte wird im Projekt-Tracking festgehalten. Dabei werden alle Mitigationprojekte visualisiert, um einen Überblick zu den benötigten Ressourcen, dem Projektfortschritt und dem zeitlichen Ablauf zu erlangen.

Die Vorteile des Sustainability Trackers

Schnelle Übersicht

Schnelle und ganzheitliche  Übersicht von ökologischen und ökonomischen Nachhaltigkeitsfaktoren in der Lieferkette. Ebenso gibt es bereits erste soziale Faktoren wie Arbeitssicherheit, die stetig weiterentwickelt werden.

Schnittstellen

Schnittstelle zu verschiedenen Einkaufssystemen, bei dem die relevanten Einkaufsdaten aus dem Einkaufssystem extrahiert und mit dem zugrundeliegenden Datenmodell von PwC Deutschland (ESCHER) verknüpft werden.

Schlanker Ansatz

Schlanker Ansatz, der eine umfassende makroökonomische Analyse der Auswirkungen von Lieferanten auf Umwelt, Klima und Gesellschaft für mehr als 80 Dimensionen und einem langfristigen Impact-Managementprozess sowie einem Management-Tool kombiniert.

Transparenz

Stärkung der Transparenz entlang der Lieferkette sowie Beitrag, um Potenziale zur Reduzierung von umwelt- und sozialen Auswirkungen der eigenen Lieferanten aufzudecken.

Nachhaltigkeitsbericht

Möglichkeit die Ergebnisse als Teil des GHG Scope-3-Reportings in den Nachhaltigkeitsbericht Ihres Unternehmens zu übernehmen.

Compliance

Unternehmen werden erhöhten Anforderungen von Investor:innen, Geschäftspartner:innen und Endverbraucher:innen sowie Regularien gerecht. 

Preise

ab 40.000 €pro Jahr
  • Lizenzgebühr pro Jahr mit individuellem Login-Zugang zur Anwendung

Jetzt mehr erfahren

Bitte tragen Sie Ihre geschäftliche E-Mail-Adresse ein, um weitere Informationen, ein Angebot oder eine Demo dieses Produkts zu erhalten. Wir setzen uns so schnell wie möglich mit Ihnen in Verbindung.

check

Vielen Dank für die Registrierung, wir werden Sie über Neuigkeiten informieren

FAQ

Was ist das ESCHER-Modell von PwC?

Ökologische, ökonomische und soziale Auswirkungen der Unternehmenstätigkeit unserer Mandanten sind aufgrund weltweiter Vernetzung der Lieferstrukturen oftmals sehr komplex. Durch eine globale Wirkungsanalyse von sektoralen und internationalen Lieferketten bestimmen wir anhand des ESCHER-Ansatzes direkte und indirekte Effekte der Unternehmenstätigkeit und identifizieren Haupttreiber dieser Effekte entlang der Lieferkette. Mithilfe von Input-Output-Modellen, die internationale Vorleistungsverflechtungen abbilden, ermitteln wir z.B. den von der Unternehmenstätigkeit ausgelösten CO2-Footprint oder die Land- und Wassernutzung. Eine solche Analyse erlaubt es, Chancen und Risiken entlang der Lieferkette zu identifizieren und unterstützt so Ihr Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement.

Warum ist eine transparente Lieferkette nützlich und erforderlich?

Über transparente Lieferketten werden Prozesse wie Einkauf, Logistik und Verkauf für das Unternehmen selbst wie auch für Stakeholder quantifizierbarer. Neben einer vertrauensvollen Wirkung nach außen können sie auch Potenziale zur Förderung von internen Mechanismen schaffen.

Welche Auswirkungen haben vorgelagerte Lieferketten auf die Umwelt- und Sozialbilanz meines Unternehmens?

Vorgelagerte Lieferketten erhalten aufgrund eines wachsenden Wertschöpfungsanteils immer mehr Bedeutung für den Produktlebenszyklus und haben somit zunehmende ökologische und soziale Auswirkungen. Sofern kritische Lieferanten, die Umwelt- und Sozialstandards nicht einhalten, Teil des Produktlebenszyklus sind, hat dies einen direkten Einfluss auf das Produkt. Durch die Zurechnung von GHG Emissionen der vorgelargerten Lieferketten auf die GHG Bilanz des eigenen Unternehmens können sich kritische Lieferanten zudem auch negativ auf das Unternehmen auswirken.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren