EN
keyboard_arrow_down
Choose a language:

Cost and Carbon Manager - Create transparency about your costs and greenhouse gas emissions

PwC software for footprint calculations of processes and products

The most important advantages at a glance

  • Calculation of costs and greenhouse gas emissions of your products or processes
  • Transparent calculation through bottom-up approach
  • Support from PwC experts

Your challenge in product and process cost calculation

Companies face the challenge of identifying which measures lead to sustainable cost and emission reductions. This is necessary to make the right decisions internally and to meet external reporting standards. Cost calculation addresses this challenge. Exemplary use cases include should costing, benchmarking, site selection, make-or-buy decisions or process and component optimisation. 

In addition, new requirements for environmental standards make it necessary to develop, produce and transport products in a climate-neutral way. The current regulations set the framework for this, but must be interpreted in a company-specific way. At the same time, current consumer trends show an increasing demand for sustainably developed and produced products. In order to meet the expectations of customers and to take into account the legal framework, companies are aiming to achieve climate neutrality.

Our Solution? Cost and Carbon Manager

PwC software for cost calculation and determination of greenhouse gas emissions

The Cost and Carbon Manager offers the possibility to carry out a well-founded analysis of the costs as well as the emissions in CO₂ equivalents (CO₂eq) for products. The tool follows the bottom-up approach to generate maximum transparency on all influencing factors of the process chain from purchasing to delivery. The product cost calculation of the Cost and Carbon Manager covers the essential use cases of the companies. The tool provides an instrument to meet the new customer awareness and the requirements for environmental standards with one's products. 

Based on process parameters, material characteristics and energy consumption, which are used in cost accounting, the Cost and Carbon Manager also offers a standard-compliant calculation of greenhouse gas emissions. This complies with applicable standards and is carried out specifically for the respective product or the process to be examined. The results of the calculation support the decision-making of companies and lead to the realisation of measurable benefits.

Benefits of the Cost and Carbon Manager

landscapeCO₂-Footprint

Combined efficient consideration of costs and the CO₂ footprint

doneAnalysis

Detailed analysis and high accuracy through bottom-up approach

zoom_inCost & Emissions Savings

Well-founded benchmark calculations for the evaluation of the entire product portfolio or the process chain to determine the potential for cost and emission savings

content_pasteRegulations

The calculations meet the requirements of the applicable regulations such as DIN EN ISO 14044 and the GHG Protocol.

thumb_upExpert know-how

PwC experts are constantly available for advice and support

The Cost and Carbon Manager creates transparency - a use case

The familiar design-to-cost approach of vehicle components is supplemented by a new dimension of sustainability (Design-to-NetZero). To accommodate these factors, the Cost and Carbon Manager offers the necessary capabilities. Companies benefit here from PwC's integrated approach: 

01

CO₂-Footprint

The total CO₂-footprint of a vehicle is made up of the CO₂-equivalents of all greenhouse gas emissions generated by the production process - including production facilities, supply chains, purchased components and raw materials.

02

Production facilities

For each process, the production systems including cycle times, waste rates and energy consumption must be considered, taking into account the local energy mix, the recycling concept and much more.

03

Evaluation of existing process information

PwC's Cost and Carbon Manager evaluates existing process information using reference values for costs and greenhouse gas emissions. Alternatively, customer-specific information can be used.

04

Result visualisation

The transparent result visualisation supports you in identifying the largest and most effective levers for emission savings and in examining alternative courses of action.

Pricing

The preferred price package is determined with the client prior to the signing of the contract on the basis of the component to be evaluated. Consultancy services for the implementation or elaboration of the identified levers are carried out in a subsequent consultancy project.

Basic Product-Pilot
50.000 €one-time
  • Footprint calculation for a physical product
    • max. 2 technologies
    • max. 10 additional components (e.g. screws, bolts, etc.)
    • Example: Die-cast housing incl. assembly
  • Process analysis by PwC Experts with the help of the Cost and Carbon Manager
  • Use of reference or customer data
  • Identification of levers for emission reduction
  • Project duration 3-5 weeks
Complex Product-Pilot
100.000 €one-time
  • Footprint calculation for a physical product
    • max. 4 technologies
    • max. 15 additional components (e.g. screws, bolts, etc.)
    • Example: Cold-pressed shaft incl. additional manufacturing processes (e.g. milling, drilling), heat treatment and assembly
  • Process analysis by PwC Experts with the help of the Cost and Carbon Manager
  • Utilisation of reference or customer data
  • Identification of levers for emission reduction
  • Project duration 7-9 weeks

Analyse your costs and greenhouse gas emissions

Please provide your business email address if you would like to receive more information, an offer or a demo of this product. We will contact you as soon as possible.

check
Gesendet. Vielen Dank für Ihr Interesse, wir melden uns schnellstmöglich bei Ihnen!

FAQ

What are the regulations followed when calculating emissions?

There are various standards, laws and industry-specific regulations regarding the calculation of emissions. The Cost & Carbon Manager's emissions calculation complies with the regulations of the GHG protocols, ISO 14040, ISO 14044 and ISO 14067 at the product level and is therefore compliant with current common reporting standards.

For which use cases can the tool be used?

The tool can be used for both individual and combined use cases. These include: Costing (determining and identifying reduction opportunities), Leverage Analysis in the context of Life Cycle Assessments (determining and identifying reduction opportunities), Benchmarking, Make-or-Buy Analysis, Site Management, Uncovering Waste Costs and many more.

Can customer-specific data also be used?

In addition to the possibility of using certified cost and CO₂ data for the calculation, it is also possible to manually enter data provided by the company.

Which industries or products is the tool suited for?

The tool is particularly well suited for industries with physical end products. Related services can also be captured and included.

How are the results displayed?

The results are available for each individual part, for each assembly or for the entire product as a list and as a bar chart. This applies to both greenhouse gas emissions and costs.

Can the results be exported?

The results of the tool can be exported and saved in CSV format.

What is Should Costing?

When working with suppliers, the question of price evaluation regularly arises. With a supplier-specific target price calculation of the components ("Should Costing"), clarity is created about the individual prices. The bottom-up analysis of the Cost and Carbon Manager provides reliable results that can also be referred to in supplier negotiations.

Calculate product costs: Where does the data for individual components come from?

The data can be retrieved from the cost database as well as entered manually.

How is the CO₂ footprint for products calculated?

The CO₂ footprint is calculated from the sum of all CO₂ equivalents of the individual process steps a product goes through - starting with the cost of the raw material and ending with acquisition costs for individual machines.

What are greenhouse gases?

Greenhouse gases are gases with global warming potential (GWP) according to the Kyoto Protocol. The gases are: Carbon dioxide (CO₂), methane (CH4), and nitrous oxide (N2O), as well as the fluorinated greenhouse gases (F-gases): hydrogen-containing hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs), perfluorocarbons (PFCs), sulphur hexafluoride (SF6) and nitrogen trifluoride (NF3).

What is a CO₂-equivalent (CO₂eq)?

CO₂-equivalents are used to express the climate impact of the different greenhouse gases in comparison to the impact of carbon dioxide, as some of these contribute more strongly to climate change. Greenhouse gases are measured and presented in the unit gram CO₂-equivalent (g CO₂eq).

You might also be interested in

DE
keyboard_arrow_down
Sprache wählen:

Cost and Carbon Manager - Schaffen Sie Transparenz über Ihre Kosten und Treibhausgasemissionen

PwC-Software zur Footprint-Kalkulation von Prozessen und Produkten

Die wichtigsten Vorteile auf einen Blick

  • Berechnung von Kosten und Treibhausgasemissionen Ihrer Produkte oder Prozesse
  • Transparente Kalkulation durch Bottom-Up-Ansatz
  • Unterstützung durch PwC-Expert:innen

Ihre Herausforderung bei der Produkt- und Prozesskostenkalkulation

Unternehmen stehen vor der Herausforderung zu identifizieren, welche Maßnahmen zur nachhaltigen Kosten- und Emissions-Reduktion führen. Dies ist notwendig, um intern die richtigen Entscheidungen zu treffen sowie externe Reporting-Standards zu erfüllen. Die Kostenkalkulation adressiert diese Herausforderung. Beispielhafte Use Cases sind unter anderem das Should Costing (Kaufteilkalulation), Benchmarking, die Standortauswahl, Make-or-Buy-Entscheidungen oder die Prozess- bzw. Bauteiloptimierung. 

Zudem ist es durch neue Anforderungen an Umweltstandards notwendig, Produkte klimaneutral zu entwickeln, produzieren und transportieren. Die aktuellen Regularien setzen hierfür den Rahmen, müssen allerdings unternehmensspezifisch interpretiert werden. Gleichzeitig zeigen die aktuellen Verbrauchertrends eine steigende Nachfrage an nachhaltig entwickelten und produzierten Produkten. Um die Erwartungshaltung der Kund:innen zu erfüllen und rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen zu berücksichtigen, arbeiten Unternehmen daran, Klimaneutralität zu erreichen.

Unsere Lösung? Cost and Carbon Manager

PwC-Software für die Kostenkalkulation und Ermittlung der Treibhausgasemissionen

Der Cost and Carbon Manager bietet die Möglichkeit, für Produkte eine fundierte Analyse der Kosten sowie der Emissionen in CO₂-Äquivalenten (CO₂eq) durchzuführen. Das Tool verfolgt den Bottom-Up-Ansatz, um maximale Transparenz über alle Einflussfaktoren der Prozesskette vom Einkauf bis zur Auslieferung zu erzeugen. Die Produktkostenkalkulation des Cost and Carbon Managers deckt die wesentlichen Use Cases der Unternehmen ab. Das Tool gibt ein Werkzeug an die Hand, um dem neuen Kundenbewusstsein und den Anforderungen an Umweltstandards mit seinen Produkten gerecht zu werden. 

Basierend auf u.a. Prozessgrößen, Materialkennwerten und Energieverbräuchen, die in der Kostenrechnung genutzt werden, bietet der Cost and Carbon Manager zudem eine Norm-konforme Berechnung der Treibhausgas-Emissionen an. Diese entspricht geltenden Standards und erfolgt spezifisch für das jeweilige Produkt oder den zu untersuchenden Prozess. Die Ergebnisse der Berechnung unterstützen die Entscheidungsfindung von Unternehmen und führen zur Realisierung von messbaren Benefits.

Die Vorteile des Cost and Carbon Managers

landscapeCO₂-Fußabdruck

Gemeinsame effiziente Betrachtung der Kosten und des CO₂-Fußabdrucks

doneAnalyse

Detaillierte Analyse und hohe Genauigkeit durch Bottom-Up-Ansatz

zoom_inKosten- & Emissionseinsparungen

Fundierte Referenzrechnungen zur Bewertung des gesamten Produktportfolios bzw. der Prozesskette zur Ermittlung der Potenziale für Kosten- und Emissionseinsparungen

content_pasteRegularien

Die Kalkulationen erfüllen die Ansprüche der relevanten Regularien wie zum Beispiel DIN EN ISO 14044 und GHG-Protokoll

thumb_upExpertenwissen

PwC-Expert:innen stehen jederzeit beratend zur Seite

Der Cost and Carbon Manager schafft Transparenz – ein Use Case

Der bekannte Design-to-cost-Ansatz von Fahrzeugkomponenten wird um eine neue Dimension der Nachhaltigkeit (Design-to-NetZero) ergänzt. Um diese Faktoren in Einklang zu bringen, bietet der Cost and Carbon Manager die notwendigen Funktionalitäten. Unternehmen profitieren hier von PwC’s integriertem Ansatz: 

01

CO₂-Fußabdruck

Der gesamte CO₂-Fußabdruck eines Fahrzeugs setzt sich aus den CO₂-Äquivalenten aller Treibhausgasemissionen zusammen, die durch den Produktionsprozess – inkl. Produktionsanlagen, Lieferketten und zugekaufte Komponenten und Rohstoffe – entstehen.

02

Produktionsanlagen

Bei jedem Prozess sind die Produktionsanlagen inkl. Taktzeiten, Ausschussraten und Energieverbrauch unter Berücksichtigung des lokalen Energiemix, des Recyclingkonzepts u.v.m. zu betrachten.

03

Bewertung vorhandener Prozessinformationen

Der Cost and Carbon Manager von PwC bewertet vorhandene Prozessinformationen mittels Referenzwerten zu den Kosten sowie den Treibhausgasemissionen. Alternativ können kundenspezifische Angaben verwendet werden.

04

Ergebnis-Visualisierung

Die transparente Ergebnis-Visualisierung unterstützt Sie dabei, die größten und effektivsten Stellhebel zur Emissionseinsparung zu identifizieren und Handlungsalternativen zu prüfen.

Preise

Die Auswahl des gewünschten Preispakets wird mit dem Kunden vor Vertragsabschluss auf Basis der zu bewertenden Komponente festgelegt. Beratungsleistungen zur Umsetzung bzw. Ausarbeitung der identifizierten Hebel werden in einem nachfolgenden Beratungsprojekt durchgeführt.

Basic Product-Pilot
50.000 €einmalig
  • Footprint-Kalkulation für ein physisches Produkt
    • max. 2 Technologien
    • max. 10 Zusatzteile (z.B. Schrauben, Bolzen, etc.)
    • Beispiel: Druckgussgehäuse inkl. Montage
  • Prozessanalyse durch PwC Expert:in mithilfe des Cost and Carbon Managers
  • Nutzung von Referenz- oder Kundendaten
  • Identifizierung von Hebeln für die Emissionsreduzierung
  • Projektdauer 3-5 Wochen
Complex Product-Pilot
100.000 €einmalig
  • Footprint-Kalkulation für ein physisches Produkt
    • max. 4 Technologien
    • max. 15 Zusatzteile (z.B. Schrauben, Bolzen, etc.)
    • Beispiel: Kaltgepresste Welle inkl. weiterer Fertigungsverfahren (z.B. Fräsen, Bohren), Wärmebehandlung und Montage
  • Prozessanalyse durch PwC Expert:in mithilfe des Cost and Carbon Managers
  • Nutzung von Referenz- oder Kundendaten
  • Identifizierung von Hebeln für die Emissionsreduzierung
  • Projektdauer 7-9 Wochen

Analysieren Sie Ihre Kosten und Treibhausgasemissionen

Bitte geben Sie Ihre geschäftliche E-Mail-Adresse an, wenn Sie weitere Informationen, ein Angebot oder eine Demo dieses Produkts erhalten möchten. Wir werden uns so schnell wie möglich mit Ihnen in Verbindung setzen.

check
Gesendet. Vielen Dank für Ihr Interesse, wir melden uns schnellstmöglich bei Ihnen!

FAQ

Welche Regelungen werden bei der Kalkulation der Emissionen beachtet?

Hinsichtlich der Emissions-Berechnung gibt es verschiedene Normen, Gesetze und branchenspezifische Vorgaben. Die Emissionskalkulation des Cost and Carbon Managers entspricht den Vorschriften der GHG-Protokolle, ISO 14040, ISO 14044 und ISO 14067 auf Produktebene und ist dadurch konform mit den aktuell üblichen Reporting-Standards.

Für welche Anwendungsfälle kann das Tool eingesetzt werden?

Das Tool kann sowohl für einzelne als auch für kombinierte Anwendungsfälle verwendet werden. Dazu gehören: Kostenberechnung (Ermittlung und Identifizierung von Reduktionsmöglichkeiten), Stellhebelanalyse im Rahmen von Ökobilanzierungen (Ermittlung und Identifizierung von Reduktionsmöglichkeiten), Benchmarking, Make-or-Buy-Analyse, Standortmanagement, Aufdeckung von Abfallkosten und vieles mehr.

Können auch kundenspezifische Daten verwendet werden?

Neben der Möglichkeit, zertifizierte Kosten- und CO₂-Daten für die Berechnung zu verwenden, ist es auch möglich, von dem Unternehmen bereitgestellte Daten manuell einzugeben.

Für welche Branchen oder Produkte ist das Tool geeignet?

Das Tool eignet sich vor allem für Branchen mit physischen Endprodukten. Auch dazugehörige Dienstleistungen können erfasst und einbezogen werden.

Wie werden die Ergebnisse angezeigt?

Die Ergebnisse sind für jedes einzelne Teil, jede Baugruppe oder für das gesamte Produkt als Liste und als Balkendiagramm verfügbar. Dies gilt sowohl für die Treibhausgasemissionen als auch für die Kosten.

Können die Ergebnisse exportiert werden?

Die Ergebnisse des Tools können exportiert und im CSV-Format gespeichert werden.

Was ist Should Costing?

Bei der Zusammenarbeit mit Lieferanten stellt sich regelmäßig die Frage nach der Preisevaluation. Mit einer Lieferanten-spezifischen Zielpreiskalkulation der Bauteile („Should Costing”) wird Klarheit über die Einzelpreise geschaffen. Die Bottom-Up-Analyse des Cost & Carbon Managers liefert belastbare Ergebnisse, auf die sich auch in Lieferantenverhandlungen bezogen werden kann.

Produktkosten berechnen: Woher kommen die Daten für die einzelnen Bauteile?

Die Daten können sowohl aus der Kosten-Datenbank geladen als auch manuell eingetragen werden.

Wie berechnet sich der CO₂-Fußabdruck für Produkte?

Der CO₂-Fußabdruck berechnet sich aus der Summe aller CO₂-Äquivalente der einzelnen Prozessschritte, die ein Produkt durchläuft – angefangen bei den Kosten für das Rohmaterial bis hin zu Anschaffungskosten für einzelne Maschinen.

Was sind Treibhausgase?

Treibhausgase sind nach dem Kyoto-Protokoll Gase mit Global warming potential (GWP). Die Gase sind: Kohlendioxid (CO₂), Methan (CH4), und Lachgas (N2O) sowie die fluorierten Treibhausgase (F-Gase): wasserstoffhaltige Fluorkohlenwasserstoffe (HFKW), perfluorierte Kohlenwasserstoffe (FKW), Schwefelhexafluorid (SF6) und Stickstofftrifluorid (NF3).

Was ist ein CO₂-Äquivalent (CO₂eq)?

In CO₂-​Äquivalenten wird die Klimawirkung der unterschiedlichen Treibhausgase im Vergleich zur Wirkung von Kohlendioxid angegeben, da diese teilweise stärker zum Klimawandel beitragen. Gemessen und dargestellt werden die Treibhausgase in der Einheit Gramm CO₂-Äquivalent (g CO₂eq).

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren